Revealing the champion in all of us.| info@somn.org

Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg

Home/Get Involved/Law Enforcement Torch Run/Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg
Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg 2017-04-13T19:43:38-05:00
Special Olympics Minnesota athlete holding torch while marching with law enforcement officers with crowd watching from side

June 19-23, 2017

The Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics began in 1981 in Wichita, Kansas when Police Chief Richard LaMunyon saw an urgent need to raise funds for, and increase awareness of, Special Olympics. The idea for the Torch Run was to provide local law enforcement officers with an opportunity to volunteer with Special Olympics in the communities where the officers lived and worked. After three successful years in Kansas, Chief LaMunyon presented his idea to the International Association of Chiefs of Police, which endorsed Special Olympics as its official charity through the Torch Run.

Law enforcement from all 50 United States, 10 Canadian provinces and territories and 35 nations carry the Flame of Hope in honor of Special Olympics athletes in their area and around the world. The Flame of Hope symbolizes courage and celebration of diversity and the inclusion of all people around the world. The Torch Run is the largest grassroots fundraiser and public awareness vehicle for Special Olympics in the world. This international program has raised over $600 million to support Special Olympics programs. More than 97,000 law enforcement personnel from thousands of agencies around the world have been Guardians of the Flame and carried the Flame of Hope.

Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada Leg (Hwy. 61)

June 19-23

Contact: Matt O’Hara | matthew.ohara@co.washington.mn.us | 651.430.7824

Moorhead Leg (Hwy. 10)

June 19-23

Moorhead to Little Falls
Contact: Nicole Reno | nicole.reno@co.clay.mn.us | 701.371.0865
Contact: Sean Mork | sean.mork@co.clay.mn.us

Little Falls to Rogers
Contact: Tim Jeanetta | tim.jeanetta@co.sherburne.mn.us

Rogers to Apple Valley
Contact: Kate Deering | kdeering@ci.brooklyn-center.mn.us | 763.503.3222

Bemidji Leg

date TBA

Bemidji to Pequot Lakes
Contact: Brian Birt | brian.birt@co.beltrami.mn.us
Contact: Bidal Duran | bduran@ci.bemidji.mn.us
Contact: Brad Norland | brad.norland@state.mn.us

Pequot Lakes to Little Falls
Contact: Kate Petersen | kpetersen@pequotlakes-mn.gov | 218.568.8111

Rochester Leg

June 21

Contact: Kevin Torgerson | torgerson.kevin@co.olmsted.mn.us | 507.328.6745

Mankato Leg

date TBA

Contact: John Buetow | jbuetow@shakopeemn.gov | 952.233.9426

Want to start your own leg? Contact alyssa.wesley@somn.org for more info!

Help us celebrate at SOMN Summer Games!

Head to Apple Valley Police Department (AVPD) on Friday, June 23, and join the many officers who’ll run the torch to Summer Games! At 6 p.m., meet law enforcement from around the state at AVPD for food and a social hour. Then at 7 p.m., we’ll run the torch from AVPD to Eastview High School for the Summer Games ceremonies.Can’t make it Friday night? Help volunteer at other events during Summer Games! More info coming soon.

Questions? Contact torchrun@somn.org.

CONTACT

Alyssa Wesley | Torch Run Coordinator
alyssa.wesley@somn.org | 763.270.7142