Revealing the champion in all of us.| info@somn.org

Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg

Home/Get Involved/Law Enforcement Torch Run/Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg
Law Enforcement Torch Run Final Leg 2017-05-17T21:22:53-05:00
Special Olympics Minnesota athlete holding torch while marching with law enforcement officers with crowd watching from side

June 19-23, 2017

The Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics began in 1981 in Wichita, Kansas when Police Chief Richard LaMunyon saw an urgent need to raise funds for, and increase awareness of, Special Olympics. The idea for the Torch Run was to provide local law enforcement officers with an opportunity to volunteer with Special Olympics in the communities where the officers lived and worked. After three successful years in Kansas, Chief LaMunyon presented his idea to the International Association of Chiefs of Police, which endorsed Special Olympics as its official charity through the Torch Run.

Law enforcement from all 50 United States, 10 Canadian provinces and territories and 35 nations carry the Flame of Hope in honor of Special Olympics athletes in their area and around the world. The Flame of Hope symbolizes courage and celebration of diversity and the inclusion of all people around the world. The Torch Run is the largest grassroots fundraiser and public awareness vehicle for Special Olympics in the world. This international program has raised over $600 million to support Special Olympics programs. More than 97,000 law enforcement personnel from thousands of agencies around the world have been Guardians of the Flame and carried the Flame of Hope.

Help us celebrate at SOMN Summer Games!

Summer Games: June 22-24
Eastview High School | 6200 140th St W, Apple Valley, MN 55124

Register for a Summer Games shift

Present Awards — Present athletes with awards after their competitions. This is one of the most fun law enforcement opportunities with Special Olympics and a great way to interact with athletes, so don’t miss it! Opportunities are available throughout Summer Games.

Celebration Ceremonies — Help carry the Flame of Hope to Summer Games! Law enforcement will meet at Apple Valley Police Department by 6 p.m. on Friday, June 23, before carrying the Torch to Eastview High School for the start of the Summer Games Celebration Ceremonies. Dinner will be provided at Apple Valley PD. Apple Valley PD address: 7100 147th St W, Apple Valley, MN 55124

After Party — After the Celebration Ceremonies we will meet at Rascal’s Bar & Grill in Apple Valley for some drinks, appetizers and to celebrate the Final Leg and SOMN Summer Games! Rascal’s address: 7721 147th St W, Apple Valley, MN 55124

Anoka County Leg

June 23

Contact: Jon Mathisen | jon.mathisen@co.anoka.mn.us
Contact: Steven Nanney | snanney@ci.blaine.mn.us
Contact: Breana Beach | breana.beach@state.mn.us
Contact: Cory Bowker | cory.bowker@co.anoka.mn.us

Bemidji + Pequot Lakes Leg

June 19-20

Bemidji to Pequot Lakes
Contact: Brian Birt | brian.birt@co.beltrami.mn.us
Contact: Bidal Duran | bduran@ci.bemidji.mn.us
Contact: Brad Norland | brad.norland@state.mn.us

Pequot Lakes to Baxter
Contact: Kate Petersen | kpetersen@pequotlakes-mn.gov | 218.568.8111

Little Falls Leg

June 14

Fort Ripley to Royalton:
Contact: Josh Andrea | josh.andrea@littlefallspolicedepartment.com

Mankato Leg

June 19-23

Contact: John Buetow | jbuetow@shakopeemn.gov | 952.233.9426

Moorhead Leg (Hwy. 10)

June 19-20

Moorhead to Baxter
Contact: Nicole Reno | nicole.reno@co.clay.mn.us | 701.371.0865
Contact: Sean Mork | sean.mork@co.clay.mn.us

Rochester Leg

June 21

Contact: Kevin Torgerson | torgerson.kevin@co.olmsted.mn.us | 507.328.6745

Sherburne County + West Metro Leg

June 22-23

St. Cloud to Rogers
Contact: Tim Jeanetta | tim.jeanetta@co.sherburne.mn.us

Rogers to Apple Valley
Contact: Kate Deering | kdeering@ci.brooklyn-center.mn.us | 763.503.3222

Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada Leg (Hwy. 61)

June 19-23

Contact: Matt O’Hara | matthew.ohara@co.washington.mn.us | 651.430.7824

Twin Cities Leg

June 23

Hennepin County Government Center/Minneapolis
U of M East Bank
State Capitol/St. Paul

Contact: torchrun@somn.org

Want to start your own leg? Contact alyssa.wesley@somn.org for more info!

CONTACT

Alyssa Wesley | Torch Run Coordinator
alyssa.wesley@somn.org | 763.270.7142