An athlete is focused during the alpine skiing competition.

Special Olympics Minnesota offers alpine skiing events from novice to advanced levels, as well as the glide event for lower ability level athletes to train and compete in basic alpine skiing skills.

The development of these basic skills are necessary prior to advancing to other competitive events. As in all Special Olympics sports, athletes are grouped in competition divisions according to ability level, age and gender.

Beginner: Glide Event
Novice: Downhill, Giant Slalom and Slalom
Intermediate: Downhill, Giant Slalom and Slalom
Advanced: Downhill, Giant Slalom and Slalom

  • Alpine skiing was first introduced as an official Special Olympics sport in 1977 at the Special Olympics World Winter Games in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA.
  • Today, 9,785 athletes from 71 programs around the world compete in alpine skiing.
  • Nine Minnesota delegations currently offer alpine skiing for their athletes.

When is Alpine Skiing offered?

December through March
Winter Games

Where is Alpine Skiing offered?