Revealing the champion in all of us.| info@somn.org

Young Athletes: Community Programs

Home/Athletes/Young Athletes/Young Athletes: Community Programs
Young Athletes: Community Programs 2017-03-01T08:56:36-06:00
Young Athletes basketball photo

Young Athletes is an innovative sports play program that introduces children ages two to seven years old, with and without intellectual disabilities to the world of sports. We believe there is no better way to bring these young athletes into the Special Olympics family than through a program like Young Athletes—fostering inclusion in a fun and engaging setting for all.

Register a child
Request more information about Young Athletes programs
Submit a volunteer application for Young Athletes

Upcoming Events

Apple Valley

Every Monday from Jan. 30-March 20, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Area Learning Center
Apple Valley, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Emily Wollak at ewollak3@gmail.com to register or for more info.

Austin YMCA

Every Tuesday from Feb. 28-April 25, 2017
5:30-6:30 p.m.
Austin YMCA
Austin, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Nicole Carporale at nwcaporale@gmail.com to register or for more info.

Blaine Young Athletes & Strider Bike Program

Every Wednesday from March 22-May 24, 2017
6:30-7:30 p.m.
Madison Elementary
Blaine, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Breana Beach at breana.beach@state.mn.us to register or for more info.

Brooklyn Center

Every Tuesday from Jan. 10-Feb. 28, 2017
6-7:30 p.m.
Brooklyn Center Community Center
Brooklyn Center, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Emily Miller at emiller@reachforresources.org to register or for more info.

Eagan YMCA

Every Friday from March 24-May 6, 2017
4:30-5:15 p.m.
Eagan YMCA
Eagan, MN
map & directions
Cost: $10 for members, $20 for non-members
Contact Bob Pihlaja at bob.pihlaja@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Emma B. Howe YMCA (Coon Rapids)

Every Saturday from Jan. 14-Feb. 18, 2017
2-2:45 p.m.
Emma B. Howe YMCA
Coon Rapids, MN
map & directions
Cost: $10 for members, $20 for non-members
Register for this program
Contact Rich Melzer at rich.melzer@ymcamn.org for more info.

Forest Lake YMCA

Every Wednesday from Jan. 11-March 1, 2017
4:45-5:30 p.m.
Forest Lake YMCA
Forest Lake, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact Chad Felty at chad.felty@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Gigi’s Playhouse

Every Monday from Jan. 30-March 20, 2017
6-6:45 p.m.
or
Every Wednesday from Feb. 1-March 22, 2017
6:15-7 p.m.
or
Every Saturday from Jan.28-March 18, 2017
9-9:45 a.m.
11-11:45 a.m.

Gigi’s Playhouse
St. Louis Park, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Chris Choy Bush at kidchoy@yahoo.com to register or for more info.

Lino Lakes YMCA

Every Tuesday from Jan. 10-Apr. 11, 2017
5:15-6 p.m.
Lino Lakes YMCA
Lino Lakes, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact Eric Sherden at eric.sherden@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Monticello – THIS CLASS IS FULL

Every Wednesday from Jan. 11-March 1, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Eastview Elementary
Monticello, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Tara Storts at tara.storts@monticello.k12.mn.us to register or for more info.

MSU Mankato – THIS CLASS IS FULL

Every Wednesday from Feb. 1-Apr. 5, 2017 (no class March 8 or March 15)
6-7 p.m.
Mankato State University
Mankato, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Susan Tarr at susan.tarr@mnsu.edu to register or for more info.

New Hope YMCA

Every Friday from Jan. 13-March 3, 2017
5-5:45 p.m.
New Hope YMCA
New Hope, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact Matthew Bazyk at matthew.bazyk@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Owatonna

Every Thursday from Feb. 2-March 16, 2017 (no class Feb. 23)
5:30-6:15 p.m.
McKinley Elementary STEM School
Owatonna, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Catie Stephani at cstephani@owatonna.k12.mn.us to register or for more info.

River Valley YMCA

Every Wednesday from Jan. 11-March 1, 2017
4:40-5:25 p.m.
River Valley YMCA
Prior Lake, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact Ryan Klingaman at ryan.klingaman@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Rochester

Every Wednesday from March 1-April 5, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Rochester YMCA
Rochester, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Molly Schlieman at schli283@umn.edu or Morgan Kraus at kraus748@umn.edu to register or for more info.

Sauk Centre

Every Tuesday from March 7-April 25, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Sauk Centre Armory
Sauk Centre, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Emily Dunn at emilyjeannedunn@gmail.com for more info or to register.

Southdale YMCA

Every Wednesday from Jan. 12-April 13, 2017
6-6:45 p.m.
Southdale Edina YMCA
Edina, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Register for this program
Contact Samantha Axelson at samantha.axelson@ymcatwincities.org for more info.

White Bear Area YMCA

Every Monday from Jan. 9-Apr. 10, 2017
6:30-7:30 p.m.
White Bear Area YMCA
White Bear Lake, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact George Kawalawu at george.kawalawu@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Thank You

Thank you to our Young Athletes sponsors, CarMax!

CONTACT

Jennifer Hansen | Senior Manager of School & Youth Initiatives
jennifer.hansen@somn.org | 763.270.7174