Revealing the champion in all of us.| info@somn.org

Young Athletes: Community Programs

///Young Athletes: Community Programs
Young Athletes: Community Programs 2017-09-15T15:46:14-05:00
Young Athletes basketball photo

Young Athletes is an innovative sports play program that introduces children ages two to seven years old, with and without intellectual disabilities to the world of sports. We believe there is no better way to bring these young athletes into the Special Olympics family than through a program like Young Athletes—fostering inclusion in a fun and engaging setting for all.

Register a child
Request more information about Young Athletes programs
Submit a volunteer application for Young Athletes

Upcoming Events

Annandale Young Athletes

Every Sunday from Sep 24-Nov 19, 2017
No class on Oct 22
4-5 p.m.
Annandale Elementary School
Annandale, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Kelly Korpela at thekorpelas@live.com to register or for more info.

Alexandria Young Athletes

Every Tuesday from Sep 12-Oct 24, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Woodland Elementary School
Alexandria, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Mary Peterson at windmillprojectmn@gmail.com to register or for more info.

Brooklyn Center Young Athletes

Every Tuesday from Sep 9-Nov 7, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Brooklyn Center Community Center
Constitution Hall
Brooklyn Center, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Emily Miller at emiller@reachforresources.org to register or for more info.

Edina Young Athletes

Every Thursday from Sep 14-Dec 14, 2017
No class on Nov 23
6-6:45 p.m.
Southdale Edina YMCA
Edina, MN
map & directions
Cost: YMCA members $20; non-members $40
Contact Samantha Axelson at samantha.axelson@ymcamn.org or 952.435.9004 to register or for more info.

Gigi’s Playhouse Young Athletes

Every Monday, Wednesday and Saturday from Sep 18-Nov 18, 2017
No class will be held the week of Oct 16-21 due to MEA
Monday: 6-6:45 p.m.
Wednesday: 6:15-7 p.m.
Saturday: 9-9:45 a.m. and 11-11:45 a.m.
Gigi’s Playhouse
St. Louis Park, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Chris Choy at mkidchoy@yahoo.com to register or for more info.

Hutchinson Young Athletes

Every Wednesday from Sep 13-Nov 8, 2017
No class Oct 18
6-6:45 p.m.
West Elementary School Gym
Hutchinson, MN
map & directions
Cost: $10 (scholarships available; contact jennifer.hansen@somn.org)
Contact Lisa Kraft at lisa.kraft@isd423.org to register or for more info.

Long Lake Young Athletes

Every Thursday from Sep 28-Dec 7, 2017
No class Oct 19
6-7 p.m.
Schumann Elementary School
Long Lake, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Michelle Swenson at mswenson@orono.k12.mn.us to register or for more info.

Macalester Young Athletes

Every Sunday from Sep 24-Nov 5, 2017
1-2 p.m.
The Leonard Center
St. Paul, MN 55105
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Logan Harper at lharper@macalester.edu to register or for more info.

Mankato Young Athletes

Every Wednesday from Sep 13-Nov 15, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Mankato State University
Highland Center North (HN), Room 225
Mankato, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Sue Tarr at susan.tarr@mnsu.edu to register or for more info.

Minneapolis Young Athletes

Every Wednesday from Sep 27-Nov 8, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Whittier Park Rec Center
Minneapolis, MN
map & directions
Cost: $10 for residents, $20 for non-residents (scholarships available; contact jennifer.hansen@somn.org)
Register online, by phone or in person at Whittier Park.
Contact Rebecca Lewis at rlewis@minneapolisparks.org or 612.370-4966 to register or for more info.

Monticello Young Athletes

Every Wednesday from Sep 27-Nov 11, 2017
5:45-6:45 p.m.
Little Mountain Elementary
Monticello, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Annie Emanuel at unifedmhs@gmail.com to register or for more info.

Northfield Young Athletes

Every Thursday from Oct 12-Nov 30, 2017
6:30-7:30 p.m.
Northfield YMCA
Northfield, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Jane Eggert at jana@northfieldymca.org to register or for more info.

Sauk Centre Young Athletes

Every Tuesday from Sep 12-Nov 14, 2017
6-7 p.m.
Sauk Centre Armory
Sauk Centre, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Emily Dunn at emilyjeannedunn@gmail.com to register or for more info.

Two Harbors Young Athletes

Every Friday from Jan 12-Feb 2, 2018
9-10 a.m.
Minnehaha Elementary School
Two Harbors, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Dana Thewis at dana.thewis@gmail.com to register or for more info.

White Bear Area YMCA Young Athletes

Every Monday from Oct 23-Dec 11, 2017
6-7 p.m.
White Bear Area YMCA
White Bear Lake, MN
map & directions
Cost: $20 for members, $40 for non-members
Contact George Kawalawu at george.kawalawu@ymcamn.org to register or for more info.

Young Athletes & Strider Bikes

Every Thursday from Sep 28-Dec 21, 2017
No class on Oct 19 or Nov 23
6-7 p.m.
Madison Elementary School
Blaine, MN
map & directions
Cost: FREE!
Contact Breana Beach at breana.beach@state.mn.us to register or for more info.
This class will rotate each week from YA lesson to a Strider Bikes lesson. Due to this rotation the program runs 11 weeks.

Thank You

Thank you to our Young Athletes sponsor, CarMax!

CONTACT

Jennifer Hansen | Senior Manager of School & Youth Initiatives
jennifer.hansen@somn.org | 763.270.7174